Wednesday, September 5, 2018

Episode 43: Shamama Knows

In this brief, strange trip, Amanda and Jacob sit down with the enigmatic "Shamama," for a little look into the history and use of entheogens and psychedelics in modern Paganism. Are drug culture and Pagan culture somehow inseparable? What connects us to sacred experience? And what made "Neo-Paganism" so "neo," anyways?

Mentions:

- Timothy Leary: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timothy_Leary
- Ram Dass (Richard Albert): https://www.ramdass.org/bio/
- Terrence McKenna: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terence_McKenna
- Peter Max: https://petermax.com/pages/peter-max-biography
- Legal history of cannabis in the United States: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Legal_history_of_cannabis_in_the_United_States
- Marijuana Timeline: https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/dope/etc/cron.html
- A Social History Of America's Most Popular Drugs: https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/drugs/buyers/socialhistory.html
- The Grateful Dead: http://www.dead.net/
- Don Henley - The Boys of Summer: http://americansongwriter.com/2012/06/the-boys-of-summer-don-henley/
- Green Egg: A Journal of the Awakening Earth (Vol 28, #110, Autumn 1995) - My Long Strange Trip to Find the Goddess, by Grateful Geb
- Green Egg (Wikipedia): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Egg
- The Incredible String Band: https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-39304909

Sharing Space:

- Pomegranate: The International Journal of Pagan Studies: https://journals.equinoxpub.com/index.php/POM
- The Wild Hunt: https://wildhunt.org/
- New Age (Wikipedia): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Age
- Caffeina: http://www.goddessgift.com/goddess-myths/Roman-goddess-caffeina.htm
- Cheese: https://www.sciencenews.org/blog/scicurious/no-cheese-not-just-crack
- More Cheese: https://www.theguardian.com/science/brain-flapping/2018/feb/13/crack-and-cheese-do-pleasurable-things-really-affect-your-brain-like-drugs

Brad Warner on drugs (some selections):

- Mountain of Drugs: http://hardcorezen.info/mountain-of-drugs/227
- The Enlightenment Drug: http://hardcorezen.info/the-enlightenment-drug/2781
- Why I Don’t Do Psychedelic Drugs: http://hardcorezen.info/why-i-dont-do-psychedelic-drugs/3759
- Drugs, Meditation, and Mountain Climbing: http://hardcorezen.info/drugs-meditation-and-mountain-climbing/5388
- Spiritual Teachers, Stop Enabling Addicts!: http://hardcorezen.info/spiritual-teachers-stop-enabling-addicts/5497
- Clinical and Indigenous Culture Use of Psychedelics: http://hardcorezen.info/clinical-and-indigenous-culture-use-of-psychedelics/5505

Links:

- Website: http://www.thepriestesses.com
- Email: thepriestesses@gmail.com
- Twitter: https://twitter.com/thepriestesses
- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thepriestesses/
- Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/thepriestesses
- Ko-fi: https://www.ko-fi.com/thepriestesses
- Music by Rebecca E. Tripp: http://www.crystalechosound.com


No comments:

Post a Comment